Garage Cosmos


Movies at a Remove: Roland Sabatier and Lettrist Anti-Cinema (1964-1985)/ Second Session

24 October – 20 December 2014

From the Law of the Jungle to the Law of Creators. 1975

The general rhythm of this infinitesimal and supertemporal work is spread over three distinct sections, the components of which should preferably be offered to the public in three different rooms. If the premises are not big enough, it could be put on in three separate spaces of the same exhibition or presentation venue where the organisers have tried to create a sequence or direction for visitors.

Chapter I: This first chapter comprises 23 aesthapeirist ensembles which spectators will see on a wall, near the entrance, but on the edge of the positions in which the supertemporal expressions inscribed in the other sectors of this piece will later take place. These ensembles will be made up of identical hypergraphs joined with photographs, all more or less alike, showing an adult in front of a school blackboard, explaining to a child stories that figurines and reviews, scattered over the documents around the figures, clearly show to be about Tarzan and the Jungle.
Indifferent to their objective representation, these visible particles are put there to be surpassed in a transcendental and infinite way by a single mental image or, at a stretch, by a few more or less identical virtual expressions that the participants will be invited to create and then repeat, tirelessly, in a hermetic, tortuous and constantly deformed mono-rhythm, by the successive use of changing mechanisms or supports that are also imaginary, suggested by titles corresponding to each of the ensembles presented. The meanings and the colours of the letters and words composing these references will trigger chemical, physical, mechanical or cultural stimuli in spectators, whether real or imaginary, possible or impossible, destined to act at multiple degrees on all their author's senses.

Chapter 2: In a second position, this work will be completed by material comprising statuettes representing a march of wild beasts led by the hero of the jungle, and by various documents such as books, reviews, photographs and aural recordings relating to the story dreamed up by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and, by extension, sporting performances and scenes of violence taken from current events. These elements should be considered as so many independent aesthapeirist particles, destined to be organised in real or imaginary associations, in the context of the general work, for which they represent bases for reflection or infinitesimal themes that the author imposes on the participants and to which the latter will have to attribute different meanings in relation, for example, to the real, imaginary or even unimaginable possibilities of going beyond the acquired physical strength and the current limits of the human body by means of super-courage, technical enrichments or means, conceivable or otherwise, that are capable of contributing to the elimination of effort in human activity, or at least of reducing its effects, for intellectual and material rewards that are also inconceivable.
In addition, the exploration of this theme could possibly be extended on a rhetorical level by the organisation of a debate between views on the subject of ethics and laws. To this end, and with the aim of keeping discussion open and moving, the organisers of this event will make available to the public texts containing the essential ideas in this discipline, from Spinoza's Ethics to the positions of the Lettristes, and including the conceptions defined and taken up by the Surrealists.

Chapter 3: The last segment of this realisation consists of the presentation of a certain number of physical or intellectual exercises that viewers will be invited to perform in relation to the preparation, making or contemplation of invisible artistic works, whether accepted or refused.
By going beyond the usual limits of the sector of yield and anti-yield, the efforts made in relation to formal accomplishments can come to form an independent artistic structure.
By going beyond the respective frameworks of the categories of authors and viewers, these expressions will give rise to accomplishments in which the public, introduced as a simple supertemporal mechanism of any artistic sector, would endlessly carry out - by completing them or abandoning them or leaving so that other art-goers can take them up - any kind of real or imaginary efforts in relation or otherwise with all the fields of Knowledge and Life.
The required expressions will result from the deployment and utilisation of sporting or intellectual instruments such as bicycles, boxing gloves or gymnastic methods, pens and paper, etc., and all the materials, acquired or to be invented, real or imaginary, that participants will have thought to bring with them, or that the organisers will have made available to them in the actual places of the event.
As and when they arrive, the viewers, who have now become the makers of this supertemporal work, will take possession of their chosen supports to infinitely and unceasingly demonstrate their capacities - or incapacity, so little does it matter whether these exercises succeed or fail - in the field of the multiplication of the power of the body and the spirit.

APHONISTIC INTERMEZZO. In the aim of enriching this event with all the rhythms that are offered to it, it is desirable - notably so as to reinvigorate the action of the public - that the organisers and viewers best informed of the rhythms of art should perform an aphonistic intermezzo during which they will introduce versification into their supertemporal accomplishments.
Thus, in a profound silence, they may, at first, by means of a single instrument, translate different expenditures of energy, interspersed in determinate, regular or irregular quantities, with identical efforts recalling the fixed forms of classical poetry. Equally rigorous propositions would result from the use of different accessories and efforts repeated in particular rhythms to later attain exercises that are beautiful in themselves, performed with elegance and rigour, and not forgetting the accumulations of concentrated and hermetic expressions during which a single sporting action will be repeated and tortured ad infinitum, ending, after polyautomatic, irrational realisations, with a destructive or polythanasic phase made up of ridiculous or disdainful uses, of rejections of uses or only attempts at descriptions of possible uses of the proposed accessories and efforts.
Naturally, the failed or successful, visible, invisible or unimaginable expressions - such as fatigue, sweat, quickening breath, the workings of the muscles, their elasticity, etc. and even the heat given off, not to mention the effects on the circulation of the blood, on nutrition and the nervous system - will in turn have to be surpassed for other meanings or used, like imaginary materials, to fix acquired or future aesthetic forms.
Roland Sabatier (Paris, 6 June 1975)

With the participation of Jeunesse & Arts Plastiques, Bozar Cinema

Roland Sabatier, Détail de De la loi de la jungle à la loi des créateurs , 1975

Garage Cosmos


Anti-cinéma (lettriste) et cinémas lointains (1964-1985)/ Deuxième séance

24 octobre – 20 décembre 2014

De la loi de la jungle à la loi des créateurs. 1975

Le rythme général de cette œuvre infinitésimale et supertemporelle se répartit en trois sections distinctes dont les composants devront, de préférence, être offerts au public dans trois salles différentes. À défaut d’un local suffisamment grand, elle pourra être exécutée dans des emplacements séparés d’un lieu d’exposition ou de présentation unique dans lequel les organisateurs se seront efforcés de créer un sens de visite on de circulation du public.

Chapitre 1 : Ce premier chapitre est composé de 23 ensembles esthapéïristes que les spectateurs découvriront sur un mur, à proximité de l’entrée, mais en marge des emplacements dans lesquels se dérouleront par la suite les expressions supertemporelles inscrites dans les autres secteurs de cette réalisation. Ces ensembles seront constitués par des hypergraphies identiques jointes à des photographies à peu près semblables montrant un adulte, devant un tableau noir d’écolier, expliquer à un enfant des histoires que des figurines et des revues, dispersées sur les documents autour des personnages, indiquent clairement être celles de Tarzan et de la Jungle.
Indifférentes à leur représentation objective, ces particules visibles sont proposées pour être dépassées d’une manière transcendantale et infinie par une image mentale unique où, à la rigueur, par quelques expressions virtuelles à peu près identiques que les participants seront invites à créer, puis à répéter, inlassablement, dans une mono-rythmie hermétique, torturée et sans cesse déformée, par l’emploi successif de mécaniques ou de supports changeants, également imaginaires, suggérés par des titres correspondants à chacun des ensembles proposés. Les significations et les couleurs des lettres et des mots qui composent ces références détermineront chez les spectateurs des stimulus chimiques, physiques, mécaniques ou culturels, réels ou imaginaires, possibles on impossibles, destinés à agir, à des degrés multiples sur tous les sens de leur auteur.

Chapitre 2 : Dans un second emplacement, cette œuvre sera complétée par un matériel composé de statuettes figurant une marche d’animaux sauvages conduite par le héros de la jungle, et par divers documents tels que des livres, des revues, des photographies ou des enregistrements sonores relatifs à l’histoire inventée par Edgar Rice Burroughs, et, par extension, à des performances sportives ou des scènes de violence puisées dans l’actualité.
Ces éléments devront être considérés comme autant de particules esthapéïristes indépendantes, destinées à être organisées en des associations réelles ou imaginaires, dans le contexte de l’œuvre générale, dont ils représenteront des bases de réflexion ou des thèmes infinitésimaux que l’auteur impose aux participants et auxquels ces derniers devront attribuer des significations différentes, en rapport, par exemple, avec les possibilités réelles, imaginaires ou bien encore inimaginables de dépassement de la force physique acquise et des limites actuelles du corps humain par le super-courage, les enrichissements techniques ou des moyens, concevables ou non, capables de contribuer à l’élimination de l’effort dans l’activité humaine, ou tout au moins d’en réduire les effets, pour des récompenses intellectuelles et matérielles également inconcevables.
D’ailleurs, l’exploration de ce thème peut éventuellement se prolonger sur un plan rhétorique par l’organisation d’un débat entre les spectateurs an sujet de l’éthique et des Lois : à cet effet, et dans le but de maintenir la discussion à un niveau évolutif, les responsables de cette manifestation placeront à la portée du public les textes renfermant les idées essentielles de cette discipline, de L’Éthique de Spinoza aux prises de position des lettristes, en passant par les conceptions définies ou adoptées par les surréalistes.

Chapitre 3 : Le dernier segment de cette réalisation consiste dans la présentation d’un certain nombre d’exercices physiques ou intellectuels que les spectateurs seront invités à accomplir au sujet de la préparation, de la réalisation ou de la contemplation d’œuvres artistiques invisibles, acceptées ou refusées.
En débordant des limites habituelles du secteur du rendement et de l’anti-rendement, les efforts en relation avec les accomplissements formels peuvent se constituer en structure artistique indépendante.
Par le dépassement des cadres respectifs des catégories d’auteurs et de spectateurs, ces expressions donneront lieu à des accomplissements dans lesquels le public, introduit comme une simple mécanique supertemporelle de n’importe quel secteur artistique, réaliserait à l’infini, en les complétant, en les abandonnant ou en les délaissant pour que d’autres amateurs les reprennent, n’importe quels efforts - réels on imaginaires - en relation on non avec tous les domaines de la Connaissance et de la Vie.
Les expressions exigées résulteront de l’emploi et de l’utilisation des instruments sportifs ou intellectuels, comme, des bicyclettes, des gants de boxe ou des méthodes de gymnastique, des stylos et du papier, etc., ensemble de matériaux, acquis ou à inventer, réels ou imaginaires, que les participants auront pris soin d’apporter avec eux, ou que les organisateurs auront mis à leur disposition sur les lieux mêmes de la manifestation.
Au fur et à mesure de leur arrivée, les spectateurs, devenus réalisateurs de cette œuvre supertemporelle prendront possession des supports de leur choix pour faire la preuve infinie et sans cesse renouvelée de leurs capacités - ou de leur incapacité, tant il est indiffèrent que ces exercices soient réussis ou ratés - dans le domaine de la multiplication de la force du corps et de l’esprit.

INTERMÈDE APHONISTIQUE. Dans le but d’enrichir cette manifestation par l’intégralité des rythmes qui s’offrent à elle, il souhaitable, notamment pour relancer l’action du public, que les organisateurs et les spectateurs les mieux informés des cadences de l’art interprètent un intermède aphonistique au cours duquel ils introduiront la versification dans leurs accomplissements supertemporels.
Ainsi, dans un profond silence, ils pourront tout d’abord, à l’aide d’un instrument unique, traduire des dépenses énergétiques différentes, entrecoupées selon des quantités déterminées, régulières ou irrégulières, d’efforts identiques qui rappelleraient les formes fixes de la poésie classique; des propositions aussi rigoureuses résulteraient de l’utilisation d’accessoires et d’efforts différents répétés selon des cadences particulières pour arriver ensuite à des exercices beaux en eux-mêmes, accomplis avec élégance et sérieux, sans oublier les accumulations d’expressions concentrées et hermétiques au cours desquelles un seul geste sportif ou un seul effort sera répété et torturé a l’infini, pour terminer, après des réalisations polyautomatiques, irrationnelles, par une phase destructive ou polythanasique, faite d’utilisations ridicules ou dédaigneuses, de refus d’emploi ou seulement de tentatives de descriptions des emplois possibles des accessoires et des efforts proposes.
Naturellement, les expressions visibles, invisibles ou inimaginables – telles que la fatigue, la transpiration, l’accélération du souffle, le fonctionnement des muscles, leur élasticité, etc., jusqu’au dégagement de chaleur sans compter les incidences sur la circulation du sang, sur la nutrition et le système nerveux -, ratées ou réussies, devront à leur tour être dépassées pour d’autres significations ou employées, comme des matières imaginaires, pour la fixation de formes esthétiques acquises ou à venir. 
Roland Sabatier (Paris, 6 juin 1975)

Avec la participation de Jeunesse & Arts Plastiques, Bozar Cinema

Roland Sabatier, Détail de De la loi de la jungle à la loi des créateurs , 1975